Happy Birthday, Beverly Cleary

Today I am thrilled to celebrate Beverly Cleary’s birthday!

Named a “Living Legend” by the Library of Congress, Beverly Cleary is probably the most recognized name in children’s book authors. 

For me, my relationship with Beverly Cleary began in middle school when I picked up a book called Fifteen.  After that, books became an obsession.  Though I’d loved books forever, they became most important during my awkward middle school years.  I began spending countless hours with paperbacks and when it seemed I’d read all that were available, I would go back to my school library and check out Fifteen.  I can still see its location on the shelf.

As a teacher, my students were younger, but I knew I had to expose them to the greats like Beverly Cleary.  I bought a class set of Ramona Quimby, Age 8 that we read together–I knew this would entice them to read more–and then I loaded my shelves with The Mouse and the Motorcycle, Henry Huggins, Muggie Maggie, and all the others in the Ramona series. 

Not surprisingly, Beverly Cleary became a classroom favorite.  So much so, we had our own Beverly Cleary book club!

So today, it is my honor to celebrate Beverly Cleary–truly a treasure to us all.  Happy Birthday!

For more information, check out her website at www.beverlycleary.com .

Hey! Today is also Drop Everything and Read day so grab that book you’ve been meaning to read and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

