Jacqueline Woodson

Today we spotlight award-winning author, Jacqueline Woodson.

She’s written many young adult, middle grade, and picture books–one of my favorites is The Other Side.  (I actually have a large print of one of its illustrations signed by E.B. Lewis, the illustrator, hanging on my wall.)

The story takes place in a rural town during the days of segregation.  I love how the characters are shown to be more than just young kids caught up in the attitudes of those times.  Instead, Woodson demonstrates how even the youngest can make a difference.

The story captivates many of my own childhood memories–unable to understand the invisible boundaries surrounding me.  Though painful, those experiences have shaped me into who I am today. 

You can find out more about this book and her many others by visiting JacquelineWoodson.com

Leave a Reply

