We Love Elephant and Piggie!

My son and I both love to read books by Mo Willems.  Thanks to his Elephant and Piggie series, my youngest son has discovered the joy of connecting with favorite storybook characters.  Although we’ve always read with him since birth, my son’s attention span was hardly long enough for even Goodnight Moon!– But when I read him Knuffle Bunny, he was amazingly captured by it.  So, of course, I went in search of more Mo Willems.

That’s when I discovered  There’s a Bird on Your Head  at our local library.  My son was hooked.  I’ve never seen him laugh so hard!  I have to admit, I laughed too.  The elephant’s negative attitude and the pig’s enthusiasm make for some pretty funny conversations.  I’ve become addicted as well. 

The best part is, now that he’s six, my son is able to read these books on his own.  There’s nothing more rewarding than watching your child mesmerized by the pages of a good book.–Thanks, Mo!

If you haven’t read the Elephant and Piggie series, you must.  Here are some of our favorites:

I Am Invited To A Party

Elephants Cannot Dance

I Love My New Toy

Are You Ready To Play Outside?

Leave a Reply

