Books That Take Us Back

Today, my writing inspiration comes from a cool blog called Vintage Kids’ Books My Kids Love. If your like me and your obsessed with children’s books, this one is a must-see.  These books take me back to the days when I’d climb aboard the bookmobile during summer vacations.  I can still smell the exhaust fumes mingled with the printed page. -sigh

Do you remember a picture book favorite?  For me, it was I’ll Protect you from the Jungle Beasts by Martha Alexander.  I searched for years until I found a discarded library bound copy just like the one I checked out so many years ago.  Oh, the joy of holding that book in my hands once again!  It was actually released again a few years ago.  Though the look and feel are different from the original, I was happy to see it republished for another generation of young readers. 

As for my treasured copy–from time to time, I pull it off my shelf and travel back to another summer.

How about you?  Send a comment describing some of your favorite oldies.

Leave a Reply

