Writing is Everywhere!

Many teachers have asked me how I motivate my students and keep them writing.  The secret of my success?  I am a writer myself!  That’s it.  I’ve discovered whatever I’m passionate about becomes contagious in the classroom.   My love for writing spills over into everything I do.  I have tons of journals jammed with everything from grocery lists to childhood memories.  From day one, my students knew I was a writer and, due to my own excitement, they yearned to be one too.

So here’s your challenge.  Grab your Summertime Journal and get to writing.  Don’t leave home without it!  Throughout this summer jot down thoughts, memories, ideas, and even lists of things to do.  It doesn’t matter what you write.  The point is that you write something.  Your journal will be instrumental in teaching next year’s students that:

  • writing can be about anything
  • writing comes in all sorts of forms
  • stories can be found everywhere
  • writing is fun
  • we are the authors of our own life stories

These are just a few of the many reasons for you to start writing today.  Oh, and there is one rule for all the writing teachers out there– NEVER convey to your students in any shape or form that you don’t like or can’t write.  NEVER, NEVER, NEVER!  Building a community of writers in your classroom starts with you.  How can you ask your students to do something you aren’t even willing to do yourself?

Soon, I’ll be sharing some of my own journal entries from summers past and how I’ve used those to build writing lessons.  If you have any thoughts, questions, or writing suggestions, we would love for you to share!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Dear Mrs. Wordsmith,
    I am a 57 year old kid and I am going to take your advice. I also love to write but many times I get stuck and don’t know what to write about. Thanks for the ideas.

    Reply

  2. Good for you! I know how frustrating writer’s block can be. That’s actually why I’ve worked so hard to keep the ideas flowing for my kids. There is nothing more dreadful than staring at that blank sheet of paper! Your summertime journal will soon be a seedbed for future writings. Keep me posted on how things are going and I’ll be posting more ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

